Books To Read If You LOVE Gilmore Girls

Hey! Guess who’s back? This Girl! I did a poll on instagram (@thebookbachelor) asking about tv shows and it was safe to say that Gilmore Girls won by majority vote. So I decided to offer up some AMAZING books to read if you liked Gilmore Girls. Reviews for these books will be out later this week so make sure to subscribe and stay tuned for more book recommendations!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

  1. The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

One thing that is well known in Gilmore Girls is the amazing relationship between Lorelai and Rory but there also that difficult relationship between Lorelai and her mother, Emily. Lorelai comes from a wealthy family and has difficulty connecting with her mother. ‘The Nest’ by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney relates to the more dysfunctional side of the Gilmore family following the Plumbs. The Plumbs are a dysfunctional wealthy family, who are reuniting for the first time in a while after an accident had occurred to a family member. There’s arguments, romance and so much more!

2.‘How to Party with an Infant’ by Kaui Hart Hemmings

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Who else loved Loreli’s single mother character? If you love reading about single motherhood then you definitely need to read ‘Partying With an Infant’! This book is full of sweet mother-daughter moments that will give you all the feels, and remind you of Lorelai and Rory’s relationship. There are the ups and downs, and you get a little insight into what it’s like to be a single mother.

3. ‘The Loose Ends List’ by Carrie Firestone

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Here comes family drama! P.S. just a little self-plug, I did a blog post over books with family drama so make sure to go check that out! Anyways this book is similar to Rory’s relationship with her grandma. In this book, there’s a girl name Maddie trying to spend as much time as she can with her dying grandma. While also experiencing the world through a different set of eyes.

4. ‘The Museum of Heartbreak’ by Meg Leder

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Rory Gilmore, like other teenage girls, went through heartbreak. If you enjoyed watching Rory’s relationship, and how they developed then “The Museum of Heartbreak” is perfect for you! This book is all about a growing teen, friendship, and of course romance!

5. ‘The Bad Mothers Handbook’ by Kate Long

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Have you wondered what it was like for Lorelai as a young adult to raise Rory? Well in this book it talks all about young pregnancies. There’s a butt load of family drama, a bit of romance, and a ton of problems. Like in Gilmore Girls Lorelai and her mother don’t have the best relationship, and in this book, it’s the same. Charlotte and Karen face a lot of struggles in their relationship at the beginning of the book. Will their relationship grow stronger or fall apart? Read to find out.

I hope some of these books peak your interest and make sure to subscribe for MORE book reviews and book recommendations! Tell me in the comments below if you’ve watched Gilmore Girls and what your thoughts are on it? Love it or hate it, let me know in the comments below!

Buy The Books (Affiliate Links)

✰ ‘The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

‘How to Party with an Infant’ by Kaui Hart Hemmings

 

✰ ‘The Loose Ends List’ by Carrie Firestone

‘The Museum of Heartbreak’ by Meg Leder

‘The Bad Mothers Handbook’ by Kate Long

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s